Hard at work again…

canstockphoto14428086

Well, The Boyfriend Deal has been out since mid-February, and I submitted Battered Not Broken last month. Which means it’s time to work on something else. I have a few starts (okay, more like 5) but there’s a New Adult story that’s particularly speaking to me right now. I just started it, so I’m not very far along, but I’m pleased with what I have so far.

If you’ve read The Boyfriend Deal, then you know I love a female lead who has something big to overcome. For Hadley, it was a stalker-like boyfriend and a psycho girl who had it in for her. In Battered Not Broken, it was an abusive father and feeling the need to hide in order to remain safe. So, I decided to continue the trend with Rising from the Ashes. But as the story still has quite a bit to go, I’m not giving away any secrets just yet. 🙂  I’m nearing the 4,000-word mark, though, and I hope the story will be around 40,000 words. Like I said, there’s still quite a bit to go.

When I’m not writing, I’m spending time with the family and furbabies. We’ve watched quite a few movies lately. Of course, when they let me pick, we end up watching 80’s classics like Beetlejuice, Pretty in Pink, Sixteen Candles, and Overboard (which my husband hates). Or I go the Johnny Depp route and we watch Corpse Bride or Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Perhaps my favorite Johnny Depp movie though is Sweeney Todd, which the kids aren’t allowed to watch. Well, the 14-year-old is probably old enough to see it now, but she doesn’t like bloody movies.

Right now, I’ve overtaken my husband’s new recliner while he’s at work. Heartbreakers is on, the kids are asleep, and I’m about to get some more words on the page. Ideally, I’d like to add about 3,000 words per day, but my adult romance alter-ego has a deadline so Ashes is moving at a much slower pace than I’d like. But the adult story should be finished in a few days and then I can focus on Kaycee’s story again (that’s the heroine’s name – Kaycee).

I hope you have a fabulous day! I’m off to write until my fingers stop working. 🙂

 

About charitywest

Hopeless romantic, book-a-holic, and animal lover. Young Adult/New Adult romance author. "The Boyfriend Deal" is now available from Evernight Teen!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

