Moving on up!

canstockphoto15955895

For those of you who follow me on Twitter or Facebook, you know I have two kids. My son is 9 and my daughter is 14. My daughter is having a big year. She’s in the 8th grade, which means she’s about to graduate and move on to high school. Around here, we have graduation ceremonies that are just as big a production as a high school graduation. She has to wear a solid black dress with black dress shoes (both of which we still need to purchase) and it’s being held at a local church (another common thing around here). If I can get a decent picture at graduation, I’m sure I’ll post it to my Facebook page, so be sure to follow me there if you want more frequent updates than my blog posts. While graduation is a huge deal for her, before graduation comes the big class trip (they are driving to Six Flags St. Louis for the day), then Field Day, and later that night is the 8th grade prom.

I’m not sure if you’re familiar with teenage girls and prom, but what this means is my wallet gets to scream a little. My daughter is on the heavy side so it’s impossible to find a dress that fits her, which means I had to special order one specific to her measurements. Yeah, can we say costly? And there are the shoes (which are too dressy to wear with anything else) and the cute little purse (also too dressy to use with anything else). It amazes me that hundreds of dollars are spent on something that will last about two hours, but I want her to have a good time and I want it to be memorable for her. She’s going alone because no one has asked her, but she seems to be okay with that.

All of that, combined with finals and state testing, would be a lot for any teen to go through in such a short amount of time (everything is crammed into two weeks). My daughter is at another disadvantage. She’s been having health issues. We don’t know if it’s anything serious yet, but she’s been really sick and has consistently been late to school or I’ve had to pick her up early. Her next round of medical tests are set for May 31 so we’re trying to hang on until then. Of course, that’s after school is over so she’s having to suffer through until then. I feel so bad for her.

All of that is to say that my baby girl is growing up. It’s hard to believe she’ll be in high school this fall, and before I know it, four years will have passed and she’ll be graduating and going off to college. She already knows where she wants to go and what she wants to study, it’s just a matter of whether or not we can afford it. Her first choice is Middle Tennessee State University, and she’s mentioned a back-up but I can’t remember what it is right now. Baby girl wants to be a band teacher when she grows up. She loves music and plays the piano a little, the guitar a little, and is really good at playing the flute. She’s always talking about wanting to learn a new instrument, but I’m hoping she’ll stay focused on the guitar and flute for now, as those are the only two we own. My little baby isn’t a baby anymore…

About charitywest

Hopeless romantic, book-a-holic, and animal lover. Young Adult/New Adult romance author. "The Boyfriend Deal" is now available from Evernight Teen!
This entry was posted in Life Issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

