Writing Habits…Good & Bad

canstockphoto17359433

If you’re a writer, then you have writing habits…some good and some bad. For me, my bad habits have to do with my environment. Instead of closing myself away in an office to write, I tend to write around the family (when they’re awake). And when they aren’t awake, I usually have a movie playing in the background or I’ll put on headphones and listen to my Amazon Music Player. For some, that would be very distracting, but I’ve found that it helps me focus. Well, the music more than the movies. If there’s a movie on that I like, I tend to stop and watch every few minutes, so I don’t get as much done.

My good writing habits? I try to write around the same time every day, which for me means nighttime or early morning (like 2am-4am). If I’m focused, I can write about 1,000 words every 20 minutes and get a lot done in an hour. Most times, I’m not so focused and it takes me hours to write 2,000 words. If I’m on a deadline (whether self-imposed or from a publisher), then I try to write a set amount of words every day, and anything over it is just a bonus. Other times, I take a more relaxed approach and just write whatever is on my mind that day and don’t try to hit a particular word count.

I’m not sure if caffeine falls under a bad habit or a good habit. My doctor would probably argue for the bad habit, but my poor sluggish brain says it’s a good one. I’m addicted to Starbucks, and when I can afford it, I like to start my writing off with a white mocha (but let’s face it, $4 a day for a cup of coffee isn’t always feasible). On the days I’m stuck with a budget, I stick with the bottled Starbucks drinks you can pick up at the store, or if I’m desperate, I’ll brew a cup of coffee.

What about you? What are your good and bad writing habits?

About charitywest

Hopeless romantic, book-a-holic, and animal lover. Young Adult/New Adult romance author. "The Boyfriend Deal" is now available from Evernight Teen!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

