New Adult or Young Adult?

I’m currently working on a story that I’ve termed New Adult, but I’ve noticed that different publishers seem to have different definitions of New Adult and Young Adult. My characters are nineteen and twenty-one, which to me would place it under New Adult as they are working at their first full-time jobs and just beginning life on their own. And yet, some publishers consider the story to be Young Adult as long as the characters are 21 and under. So, I’m not really sure what to call my story. It just means before I submit it anywhere, I’ll have to read their site carefully and see if they have age parameters on their N.A./Y.A. genres.

What am I working on? It’s tentatively called Rising from the Ashes. My heroine has suffered a tragedy that has left both physical and emotional scars, but she’s trying to start her life over. Having landed a job at the local fire department as an assistant, she isn’t quite prepared for the hunky fireman who makes her pulse race and gives her tingles. But is she ready to trust again?

canstockphoto2472337

About charitywest

Hopeless romantic, book-a-holic, and animal lover. Young Adult/New Adult romance author. "The Boyfriend Deal" is now available from Evernight Teen!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

